RSS Feed

German Potato Pancakes

GERMAN POTATO PANCAKES

potato pancakes are part of my German upbringing. Some of the mealtimes I remember include these pancakes and competing with my brother Frank as to how many we could eat. A meal of potato pancakes was usually preceded by a soup, usually lentil or pea soup and we always had to eat a bowl before we dug into the pancakes.  I do not use a recipe. I adjust it to how many potatoes I have on hand…sometimes I add an extra egg or two. I also like to grate in a carrot, sweet potato, parsnip or whatever root vegetable or squash I have on hand sometimes. Here is a recipe I have found in one of my German cookbooks that has the proper ratio of ingredients so your pancakes will turn out great. It is most identical to the way I prepare my pancakes which has been passed down to me from my Mom and my Oma.

1kg (2 1/4lb) floury potatoes (russet)

1 onion                                                                                                                                         

3 medium eggs

1 tsp salt

6 Tablespoons all purpose flour                    

Cooking oil e.g. sunflower, peanut or canola

I grate my potatoes with the peel. I think the peel carries nutrients and fiber and therefore adds food value. You can peel your potatoes if you wish then grate them either coarsely like I have or with the fine side of your grater. Peel and grate your onion as well into your potato. Add eggs flour and salt. Mix well.  Heat a little oil in your pan and with a serving spoon, spoon the batter into the hot oil. It is important that the oil is hot but not smoking. Let your pan come to this temperature over medium heat. A well seasoned cast iron pan works really well for these pancakes. If your oil is hot then the pancakes will not be greasy. Let pancake fry over medium heat until edge turns crispy brown, flip and brown other side. remove and place on a plate with paper towel to drain any extra oil then place in oven to keep warm.

Serve Pancakes with sour cream or a higher fat creamy plain yogurt like KREMA greek yogurt. I like the yogurt better as it is a little lower in fat than sour cream and has healthier ingredients. Applesauce and canned plums are what we ate with them when we were growing up. We also ate them cold on the heaviest rye-bread one can buy topped with sugar beet syrup as a sandwich to school. Yes my ethnic upbringing made me the odd girl out sometimes but it was GOOD.

Potato pancake served with stewed gala apples, rhubarb and vanilla bean with greek yogurt on the side

About mountainmommy

Mother of 2. A beautiful 3 year old girl, my little 1 year old boy and my partner in life John. We live here in the beautiful East Kootenays.

Leave a Reply

