RSS Feed

Food Frisker’s Improv Parsnips

 

Dinner…hmmm. Took out a pork tenderloin. Googled tenderloin recipes and decided to go with salt, pepper, minced garlic. Seared and finished off in the oven. Served with a homemade peach chutney. This isn’t about the pork however. The question was the vegetable I had on hand. I found a really nice bag of parsnips last week. 6 or 7 nice white firm roots that promised sweet goodness if prepared just right. I was hoping to just roast them together with some baby  potatoes in the same dish but once I prepped them and put them in the roasting dish they took up the whole dish. So….I needed to revamp my idea. What to do? Knowing that parsnips pair well with apple I found that  I had some nice Granny Smith apples…YA.

I peeled and sliced 2 large Granny Smiths and cut them into eighths and added them to the parsnips. Now what? I started thinking “Baked Apples”. I found some pecans and unsalted butter was an obvious choice.

I then decided to chop up a few pieces of candied ginger.

Candied Ginger

  Added that to the parsnips, apples and nuts. Sprinkled the lot with 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of course salt, tossed everything together with about 1/3 cup melted butter give or take and popped it into a 400 degree oven for about 45 minutes stirring about 10 minutes after putting in to coat everything with the butter evenly and then about every 10 or 15 min until nicely roasted and carmelized. 

CARMELIZED GOODNESS! Sweet, salty, tangy, crunchy, spicey. I love improv cooking.  

Review of ingredients and directions

 preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a 13x 9″ baking dish toss ingredients below together and bake for 45 min tossing every 15 minutes for nicer carmelization.

6-7  good sized lovely parsnips peeled and chopped

2 large tart Granny Smith apples peeled, cored and sliced into eighths

4-5 good sized nuggets of candied ginger sliced

1/2 cup or more if you like of whole pecans

2  rounded tablespoons of brown sugar(or about 1/3 of a cup of maple syrup)

1 teaspoon coarse salt

1/3 of a cup more or less of unsalted melted butter

About mountainmommy

Mother of 2. A beautiful 3 year old girl, my little 1 year old boy and my partner in life John. We live here in the beautiful East Kootenays.

3 responses »

  1. Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first. ~Ernestine Ulmer

    Reply
  2. Heather O'Neill

    mmm parsnips are Bens fav I’ll have to try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

